Click to View

Islam: Truth or Myth? start page



Meeting Islam's Challenge:

The 5 Pillars of Islam


The Quran is the book of guidance as revealed to the prophet Muhammad. It is the main source of guidance for Muslims. The word Quran means that which should be read. It was revealed in Arabic. It has been translated into many languages, but is still read in Arabic to retain its true meaning.

The Hadith are the collection of the prophet Muhammad's sayings. These are the second source of guidance for Muslims. The word Hadith means saying. The prophet Muhammad was the living example of Islam, so what he said is very important for Muslims.

The 5 Pillars of Islam

1. Shahadah

The statement of belief that "There is no god except Allah and Muhammad is the messenger of Allah".

2. Salah

Prayer, worship of Allah. Muslims must perform salah 5 times a day. Before Salah, Muslims prepare themselves by performing Wudu (Ablution) which involves cleaning the hands, face, arms, head and feet.
Click to ViewWhy Muslims pray five times a day.




Between the first light of dawn and sunrise


After Midday






From one and a half hours after sunset

3. Sawm

Fasting from sunrise to sunset during the month of Ramadan. The Quran was revealed during this month. Any days of fasting missed, because of health etc, should be made up after. Muslims can fast during other days in the year, if they want to, but those are optional. The only days when Muslims are not allowed to fast are the days of Id ul-Fitr and Id ul-Adha.

The fast in invalidated by :

  1. Deliberate eating or drinking
  2. Anything entering throught the nose or mouth.
  3. Having any conjugal relations

The festival of Id ul-Fitr follows the month of fasting.

4. Zakah
Making payment of 2.5% welfare tax on wealth.

5. Hajj
Going, at least once in lifetime, on the pilgrimage to Makkah, if money and health permits. Performed during the period 8th-13th Dhu'l Hijjah.

The Hajj involves the following rituals :

  1. Putting on Ihram.
  2. Going round Al-Kaabah seven times.
  3. A fast walk between As-Safa and Al-Marwah.
  4. Visiting and staying at Mina, Arafat and Muzdalifah.
  5. Throwing pebbles at three fixed points in Mina.
  6. Shaving or trimming hair.
  7. Sacrificing an animal (camel, cow, goat or sheep).

The following restrictions are placed on the Muslims while wearing Ihram :



Can't use perfume

To help forget enjoyment of ordinary daily life

Can't kill or harm animals

To feel that everything belongs to Allah

Can't break or uproot plants

To suppress urge for aggression and feel love of nature

Can't hunt

To develop mercy

Can't marry or take part in a wedding

To forget normal life and think of the creator

Can't do be dishonest or arrogant

To behave like a servant of Allah

Can't carry arms

To give up aggressive attitude

Too bad Muslim's only act this ways when they wear Ihram!!! World peace would be the result!

Can't have conjugal relations

To forget worldly pleasures.

The festival of Id ul-Adha follows the Hajj.


Click to View